Let my trip be yours.

Somewhere around a decade ago, musicians Komar & Melamid teamed up with composer David Soldier and asked people through their website to offer what they thought were the best and worst aspects of music. They compiled the data and then created “The Most Wanted Song” and “The Most Unwanted Song.” The blogosphere has been buzzing over them recently, and I stumbled across them last week myself thanks to Wired. I decided I wanted to discuss them myself not only to spread them around further (because they are quite captivating), but to offer my own insight as a musician and lover of weird shit.

Most Unwanted Song: Ironically, this song is actually incredibly good. The second half is mainly an unnecessary repeat of the first half, but that first half is so amazing that we can forgive them. I could understand why people wouldn’t like this, but they are also the same type of people who don’t like most good music. I’d be willing to wager that most anyone interested in any music that is challenging and pushes any boundaries will love this. It reminds me of a Mystic Knights of Oingo Boingo song. The opera rapping is surprisingly cool and the kids chanting about Wal-Mart may be one of the greatest things I’ve ever heard in a song. All of these disparate elements are masterfully woven together with funky beats and cowboy themes to create something that in any other hands would be a disaster. It just goes to show that the majority have no idea what good music is.

Most Wanted Song: Again, it’s ironic (but somewhat fitting) that this song is actually one of the worst songs you will ever hear. Unlike the “Unwanted” song, there will be no disagreement about this. It’s like you’re about to hear an easy listening, r&b comedy song by the Lonely Island or Tim & Eric, except it never gets funny. I could listen to the full 22 minutes of the “Unwanted” song, but I could barely manage 30 seconds of this one. It just goes to show that the majority have no idea what good music is.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

